Zayed Academy ease into the UAE National Academy League final

Published on Apr 24, 2017

Zayed Cricket Academy booked their passage in the final of the inaugural UAE National Academy League after a clinical demolition of Young Talent Cricket Academy.

They dismissed YTCA for 158 and knocked off the winning runs with nearly four overs to spare for the loss of two wickets at the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council s Nursery Oval-1.

Pavan Kumar set the run-chase with a 30-ball 43 before his opening partner Jonathan Figy and Abhishek Prakash, the captain, completed the job with a 61-run stand for the third wicket without being separated.

Pavan hit seven fours and a six, and departed after dominating an opening stand of 63 in 53 balls. Figy played the anchor role. The left-handed UAE U19 international added 35 for the second wicket with Fazal Shahid (17) before taking his side home with a solid half century off 65 balls.

Figy s knock was highlighted by half-a-dozen fours and six while Prakash chipped in with 26 not out off 34 balls with three boundaries. Earlier, Raees Ayan and Burhanullah Hussaini, the opening bowlers of the Zayed Academy, provided the early breaks to have the visitors in a bit of a spot at 14 for three in four overs.

Ayan had Panjika Piyasiri trapped in front and the one-drop batsman Fahad Nawaz snapped up at short cover by Prakash. In-between, Hussaini had the other opener Anad Kumar held by Pavan to a sharp catch at short cover.

Ali Mirza and Srinivas Sharma steadied the YTCA inning with a 67-run stand before the latter lofted one from off-spinner Khalid Mahmood straight at Pavan at deep mid-wicket.

Mirza was run out at 131 after sharing another 50-run stand for the fifth wicket with Mohammed Faraz. Karthik Meiyappan and Hussaini then grabbed the remaining four wickets to leave Zayed Academy with a run chase of 5.3 per over, a target they kept under control after Pavan laid the platform with his breezy knock. Zayed Academy will meet G-Force, who got the better of GM Academy by six wickets, in the final.

Scores in brief:

Zayed Cricket Academy 159 for 2 in 26.1 overs (Jonathan Figy 50 not out, Pavan Kumar 43, Abhishek Prakash 26 not out) bt Young Talent Cricket Academy 158 all out in 29.2 overs (Srinivas Sharma 40, Mohammed Faraz 33, Ali Mirza 32, Burhanullah Hussaini 3-24, Raees Ayan 2-29, Karthik Meiyappan 2-32).

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01