Riders sparkle bright in UAE Xchange ADSL final

Published on May 10, 2016

Bright Riders clinched their first cricket silverware in only their second season in the Abu Dhabi School League. They were crowned the UAE Xchange U12 ADSL champions after a clinical demolition of Abu Dhabi Indian school by eight wickets and more than two overs to spare at the Zayed Cricket stadium.

Nikhil Menon played the anchor role, scoring a well-compiled 51 not out off 42 balls, and he featured in two valuable partnerships in chasing down 126 for nine put up on the board by ADIS.

He shared a 66-run stand for the second wicket with Soorya Sathish (19) and 48 with Krishna Pathak for the third wicket without being separated. Bright Riders lost Nimalan Babu (6) in the third over at 12 off Faraas Nadeem but his opening partner Nikhil joined by Soorya Sathish (19) shared a 66-run stand for the second wicket before Aniket Duggal provided ADIS the second breakthrough.

But that was the only success the ADIS had as Nikhil and Krishna Pathak, who smashed 36 not out off 27, took them home with a 48-run partnership without being separated. Both Nikhil and Krishna hit seven boundaries each.

ADIS taking first lease of the wicket were left struggling at 50 for six in the 13th over before Snehal Shetty (36), Aniket Duggal (22 not out) and Ariyan Raguvanshi (16) chipped in with useful contributions to take their total to some respectability.

Sudhir Shetty, president of UAE Exchange Centre and sponsor of the ADSL from its inception in 2008/2009, said Dr BR Shetty, the former president of the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council and chairman of both the schools would be the happiest person.He has been a passionate supporter of cricket for the past 27 years, particularly schools cricket, and I am sure, for him, it would be like a dream come true to see these two schools play in a final,he said.As a sponsor I thank all those schools that took part in all four age groups in the ADSL and our support for school cricket will continue.

David East, chief executive of both Emirates Cricket Board and Abu Dhabi Cricket Club, said it was a privilege for kids as young as 10 and 11 to play the final at a Test venue. I look back when I started playing cricket at this age back home in England, and I was playing on school grounds and municipality grounds, and I couldn t have even dream playing a final on a Test ground, said the former Essex wicketkeeper-batsman. I was lucky later in my years I played in many Test grounds in England and throughout the world. But at 11 years of age, I would have never got this experience.

And part of this experience is because the support of our sponsor s making it possible. It is absolutely true without their support even a tournament cannot take place.

The U12 was the last of the four age group events sponsored by UAE Exchange Centre and conducted by the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council. The Cambridge High school retained the U19 title while Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Pakistan School were winners of both U16 and U14.

The champion Bright Riders School:

Soorya Sathish (Captain), Nikhil Menon, Nimalan Babu, Krishna Pathak, Pranav Kiron, Advaith Ramakrishnan, Sriram Sajeev, Avinash Biju, Shaan Faraz, Dhimaan Bhattacharya, Rahul Shirke, Mohsin Shaikh, Sanjit Cheubal, Akshay Kalgikar, Devang Grover.

Scores in brief:

Bright Riders 130 for 2 in 17.5 overs (Nikhil Menon 51 not out, Krishna Pathak 36 not out) bt Abu Dhabi Indian school 126 for 9 in 20 overs (Snehal Shetty 36, Aniket Duggal 22 not out, Sriram Sajeev 2-18, Dhimaan Bhattacharya 2-29).

Man of the match in Final-Nikhil Menon of Bright Riders.

Most Valuable Player of the tournament-Soorya Sathish of Bright Riders.

Best Batsman-Vishnu Menon of The Cambridge High School.

Best Bowler-Gary Frank of Abu Dhabi Indian School.

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01