Alubond Tigers win UBL T20 Cup

Published on May 1, 2016

Alubond Tigers emerged convincing 44-run winners over Interface Transworld to take the UBL Floodlit Twenty20 Cup in the final played at the Zayed Cricket stadium.

Rohan Mustafa, the UAE international, played the key role with a top score of 56 and sharing an opening wicket stand of 89 in nine overs with Shahid Sadiqe (24) to set them the platform after sent into bat first.

The all-rounder hit seven fours and a six during his 43-ball stay at the wicket. There were also useful contributions from the No.3 and No.4 batsmen Amjad Gul and Ghulam Sabir, both chipping in with 35 apiece. Interface in reply could muster only 145 for nine after moving to 56 for four at the halfway mark of their chase.

Shareef Asadullah provided the early breakthrough to return with three for 30 from four overs. He removed both the openers Ibtisham Saif (13) and Hafiz Kaleem (22) and the two-drop Mohammed Boota (4) to put his team on the driver s seat. Nasir Aziz took two wickets while Asadullah s new ball partner Sultan Ahmed bowled a tidy four overs to return with one for 21. Mustafa grabbed a wicket for 12 runs from his two overs.

The tournament sponsored by United Bank Limited and conducted by the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council drew 20 teams from all over the Emirates.

The champion Alubond Tigers:

Nasir Aziz (Captain), Shahid Sadiqe, Rohan Mustafa, Amjad Gul, Ghulam Sabir, Umair Ali, Amjad Javed, Sultan Ahmed, Mohammed Azhar, Asif Mumtaz, Shareef Asadullah.

Scores in brief:

Alubond Tigers 189 for 7 in 20 overs (Rohan Mustafa 56, Amjad Gul 35, Ghulam Sabir 35, Ahmed Raza 3-32) bt Interface Transworld 145 for 9 in 20 overs (Farhan Babar 33, Ahmed Raza 32 not out, Shareef Asadullah 3-30, Nasir Aziz 2-31).

Man of the match-Rohan Mustafa.

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01