Anwar ton power Pakistan School to ADSL U14 title

Published on Apr 25, 2016

To score a century when chasing a score of 132 is a remarkable effort. Anwar Khan, the captain of Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Pakistan School, accomplished it to guide his team to the UAE Xchange Abu Dhabi School League U14 title.

Anwar celebrated his third century of the competition to almost single-handedly lead his team to an eight-wicket win over Abu Dhabi Indian School in the final at the Zayed Cricket stadium.

Opening the inning, Anwar dominated a 50-run stand in six overs for the first wicket with Mehran Khan (5).

Amjad Khan (1), who came at the fall of the first wicket, was dismissed two runs later but that was the only success ADIS enjoyed as Anwar and Obaid ur Rehman (10 not out) saw them through.

Anwar s 54-ball knock was highlighted with 19 boundaries. The wicketkeeper batsman won both the Man of the Match in the final and Most Valuable Player of the competition awards.

ADIS electing to take first lease of the wicket were given a sound start by openers Zaid Shaikh (27) and Atul Murali (19), the pair putting on 60 in 10.3 overs. Nathan D Mello chipped in with 22 but the rest of the batting failed to take the momentum forward.

The ADSL for the U19, U16, U14 and U12 age groups sponsored by UAE Exchange Centre is an annual tournament organized by the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council.

The two schools will meet again in the U16 final at the Zayed Cricket stadium on Sunday.

The champions Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Pakistan School team:

Anwar Khan (Captain), Haji Ur Rehman, Mehran Khan, Amjad Khan, Obaid ur Rehman, Faizan Ullah, Kashif Khan, Hai ur Rehman Jnr, Asghar ur Rehman, Israr Ullah, Ahmed Abbas, Zeeshan Ullah.

Scores in brief:

Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Pakistan School 132 foe 2 in 15.1 overs (Anwar Khan 105 not out) bt Abu Dhabi Indian School 130 all out in 19.2 overs (Zaid Shaikh 27, Nathan D Mello 22, Haji ur Rehman Jnr 2-19).

Most Valuable Player:

Anwar Khan (Pakistan School).

Best Batsman: Tayyeb Ali (Al Yasmina).

Best Bowler: Nikhil Menon (Bright Riders).

Dilawar Mani Spirit of Cricket Award: Bright Riders.

Man of the match in final: Anwar Khan (Pakistan School).

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01